Behind Her Eyes

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough; 2017

 

WHOA. I’ve read a whole bunch of recently published thrillers lately, and Behind Her Eyes has definitely come the closest to *shocking* with a twist ending. The publishers of this book really pushed the twist ending – literally, it’s all over the book jacket – but this was my Book of the Month pick for February, so I decided to go for it.

IMG_5449

It’s difficult to to review this book without giving anything away, so I’ll stick the main details. Louise is a single mom who on a rare night out meets a gorgeous man whom she really connects with; they kiss, but then he reveals he’s married and flees the bar.Β The following Monday, she arrives at work where she is a secretary at a private clinic, and meets her new boss. Who happens to be David – the same David from the bar. Just as Louise and David manage to work out their awkwardness and agree to be friends, Louise bumps into Adele, David’sΒ wife. Adele is beautiful and lonely, and is eager to befriend Louise. As Louise is sucked deeper into her separate relationships with both spouses, she realizes that something about their marriage is deeply wrong. Why is David going out and getting drunk and kissing strangers when his wife is so perfect and devoted? And why does Adele want Louise to keep their friendship a secret from David? And more importantly – why does Adele have an ancient Nokia cell phone?

Although this book will undoubtedly be leveled with Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, it’s pretty far out of that realm – although, is it even a thriller these days if the main character doesn’t drink too much?? It’s difficult for me to decide exactly how I feel about this, particularly because there are some crossing of genres that sort of confused me. Anyway, what I do know is that I quite literally could not put this down. I read it in a few hours this afternoon. The ending is certainly a twist, and most definitely unnerving.

In my opinion, too much was given away too early, but although I had a pretty good idea of where the story was going, I was definitely surprised by the very final twist. Absolutely someone should option this for a movie asap.

And now, for real, I will stop reading thrillers with girl/her/woman in the titles.

-M

 

 

Leave a Reply

