Quick Review: The Goldfinch

Title: The Goldfinch

Author: Donna Tartt

Published: 2014

The down low: Pulitzer Prize Winner for Fiction, 2014

Summary in 2 sentences: Theo loses his mother in a tragic accident at thirteen, and his life goes on a path of self-destruction quickly thereafter. A long, drug-fueled look at a life with some philosophical dwellings on what life is all about (heads up: not positive).

Why you should read it: I’m not really saying that anyone should definitely read this. No regrets, but I struggled with it; some parts I liked, most parts I didn’t. I struggled with Theo’s character and found the long stretch of the book that takes place in Las Vegas boring. I couldn’t stand Boris. It’s extremely depressing and there’s a lot of death. But I loved Theo’s relationship with Pippa, and the very end of the book helped redeem it for me. The end message is worth it, and Tartt spells it out for you by the end so you don’t have to work hard to get it if you didn’t get there on your own (I didn’t). For as long as this book is, I got through it fairly quickly.

Read it if you liked: Donna Tartt’s other work or overly long philosophical books about life/human existence

-M

Leave a Reply

