milk and honey

I am not normally a poetry reader. I read because I like the story,  not the words. Home for Thanksgiving, however, my sister forced milk and honey into my hands and I decided to give it a go.

Rupi Kaur’s book of poetry is divided in four chapters: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing. The main thrust of the poems focus on femininity and the relationship between women and men (boyfriends, husbands, fathers, sons) as well as the poisonous way women treat other women and themselves.

My favorite thing about these poems is the rapidity with which Kaur transitions from a poem about love to a poem about body hair. Her opinions on both are so beautiful written and precise, but it was entertaining how her opinions appear equally strong on both.

Love love LOVE this book of poetry, and cannot wait for the 21 year old to spend her life producing equally moving tomes (no pressure Rupi).

-A

 

Leave a Reply

