Eleanor & Park

I haven’t read a book in a day since Silver Linings Playbook, which I read when I was home alone and it took me all day. Eleanor & Park, however, only took me approximately 6 hours to read. And I loved every second of it.

This YA novel by Rainbow Rowell tells the story of two high school sophomores who fall in love. Eleanor is a new girl who has a troubled home life and is teased at school. Park is a quiet loner who likes comics and listening to music. Their mutual dislike on Eleanor’s first day of school slowly turns into love. While I had some trouble digesting this novel as someone who never had a boyfriend in high school, as soon as I let it go that they were supposed to be sixteen, I enjoyed the book much more.

I would highly recommend Eleanor & Park for anyone interested in reading “what the kids are reading these days.” Cause I think this is it. The cover art is also incredibly appealing. This is one of those books that I enjoyed so much that I am having a hard time writing about. I’m glad I found this book when I did because I was in-between reading some not so great books.

-A

Leave a Reply

