The Husband’s Secret

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty; 2013

FINALLY! I feel like I was so behind on The Husband’s Secret buzz. I’ll be honest, I never had much of an interest in reading this book because I figured it was a book about an affair. Without giving too much away, the husband’s secret ends up being a lot more complicated than an extra-marital affair.

As is always the case with each Liane Moriarty book I’ve read, The Husband’s Secret is super entertaining. I took it to read on the plane for my work travels, and I raced through it. Out of the three Liane Moriarty books I’ve read (Big Little Lies, The Hypnotist’s Love Story), this one was probably the most laugh-out-loud hilarious.

The story follows three women: Cecilia, mom and tupperware saleswoman extraordinaire; shy entrepreneur Tess, who discovers her husband has fallen in love with her cousin; Rachel, whose daughter died many years before, and whose life now centers around her grandson. At the beginning of the book Cecilia finds a letter in the attic that her husband wrote, with directions that Cecilia should read the letter after his death. The only problem is that Cecilia finds the letter when her husband is still very much healthy and alive. When Cecilia’s husband’s secret is released, the lives of the three women intersect in unexpected ways.

Moriarty’s writing is snappy and witty, and she’s definitely gifted with dialogue. The story is gripping, keeps you reading, and asks some big moral questions.

As much as I enjoyed this book, I have to admit that I didn’t LOVE the ending. Parts of the end were predictable (although other parts were definitely a twist), and it was honestly just sort of too sad for me. The only thing I struggle with with Moriarty’s books is that they start off entertaining and funny, but then they take a dark, dramatic turn towards the end that I’m not always prepared for, since I was having such a good time beforehand. It almost feels like I’ve been tricked. Which is not to say that I don’t really, really like and enjoy her books, it’s just thatI ever feel completely prepared. Anyways – overall, this book was excellent and a recommended read.

-M

Leave a Reply

