The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2)

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith; 2014

I didn’t love The Cuckoo’s Calling, but was for some reason overtaken a couple of weeks ago with an urge to read the second Cormoran Strike novel, The Silkworm. Probs because I want to continue to show solidarity to my girl JK Rowling. This time I knew what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I really liked this book – I didn’t love it, but I’m almost there. Maybe the third book in the series will be the charm for me.

In The Silkworm, novelist Owen Quine goes missing. His wife calls Strike to investigate, believing that Quine has gone off for a few days as he’s done in the past. Quine has just completed a manuscript with thinly disguised libelous portraits of nearly everyone he knows – a few of them important publishers and bestselling writers. If the novel is published, it will ruin reputations. When Quine is found murdered, everyone portrayed in his manuscript becomes a suspect.

Like Cuckoo, the second Strike novel started off at a slow pace, but then picked up a lot faster than its predecessor. There were more sinister characters and goings-on, which I’m all about. There are still a lot of conversations and interviewing in The Silkworm, but these interviews were a lot more interesting and concise than in Cuckoo. I think I was also just a lot more interested in Silkworm’s mystery. Most of the mystery and the suspects are in the publishing world, which appeals to my personal interests.

WhatΒ I DIDN’T like atΒ  all was that Strike and Robin knew who the killer was for about 60 pages before it was revealed to the reader. I’m not into that, but that was really my only grievance. The relationship between Robin and Strike is still a little weird to me but oh well. I still don’t LOVE Strike as a main character, but he’s growing on me. Career of Evil is about a serial killer so I’m all over that.

-M

 

Leave a Reply

