The Maze Runner

James Dashner; 2009

Here I am again, trying my hand at YA. Even though The Maze Runner is now a movie franchise, I still managed to not know anything about it other than the obvious: a maze and a boy running in the maze. The story starts off with the main character, Thomas, entering a place called The Glade in a box. He doesn’t know where he came from, and only has vague memories of the world before he entered The Glade. The Glade is in the middle of an enormous maze, and the Gladers devote their days to finding a way to escape.

The Maze Runner starts out really strong; it’s exciting, fast-paced, and mysterious. It was a little frustrating to not understand anything that was happening, although the gap in knowledge perfectly mirrors what Thomas is feeling. I couldn’t take the slang/invented curse words seriously at all – i.e. shank, slint-head, shuckface, etc. They got a laugh 99% of the time, which I’m not sure was the goal. I got a little bit bored towards the middle, and some of the plot was predictable. But the end was enough of a plot twist/cliff-hanger to make me want to read the next book. Off to watch the movie while I wait for my library copy of The Scorch Trials!

Leave a Reply

