Congo

Congo, Michael Crichton

I love Michael Crichton, but OMG Congo was ridiculous. I have a genuinely active fear of primates, so picking up this book at all was probably my first mistake. From the back cover description, I thought I was in for a thriller about a Bigfoot-esque character. It’s not. So to the other people out there who have been scarred by Planet of the Apes, go no further.

Things this book has:

  • Talking gorillas
  • Gorillas drinking martinis
  • Sinister Japanese businessmen
  • Laser guns
  • Blue diamonds
  • Volcanoes
  • Hippos
  • Skydiving
  • Killer gorillas
  • A hot air balloon seemingly conjured out of nowhere
  • A lost city in the jungle called Zinj

I think that says it all, really.

Compared to Jurassic Park, Congo is a lot heavier on the nerdy stuff – a lot about satellites and supercomputers and other things that didn’t interest me. The really fun part about this was the wildly inaccurate predictions about the future of computing. I laughed out loud many, many times. I can’t deny that this was fun to read, but go in with low expectations.

2 thoughts on “Congo

Leave a Reply

