The Lost World

The Lost World by Michael Crichton

Dinosaurs and Michael Crichton, AM I RIGHT? Not a lot can go wrong here. I enjoyed the sequel to Jurassic Park, but I didn’t love The Lost World as much as its predecessor. It was almost too similar to the original, and more like a rehash of what had happened in the first. Alan Grant and Ellie Sattler do not return, which made me a little bit sad. Ian Malcom does return, even though I definitely thought his death was implied at the end of Jurassic Park. Anyway…

We learn about a lot of new dinosaurs in The Lost World, Chaos theory, how extinction effects evolution, and of course the raptors return for another star performance. There are definitely ways to poke holes in the plot, but I think it’s best to take this book at face value for what it is. It’s a fun, fast-paced adventure read, and it’s inspired me to finally sit down and read The Sixth Extinction.

-M

Leave a Reply

