“Joyland”, or Stephen King doesn’t like women

I just finished my first Stephen King novel, Joyland. And in October, the month of his birth!! I don’t really like him. He doesn’t seem to like women very much. First of all, the girlfriend in the beginning’s BIG DREAM is to have a clothing store. Okay, that’s fine. I’m sure some people really do want that.

IMG_9743

But that, added to the description of the librarian as a “beanpole with huge bespectacled eyes”, as well as the oft used “c word”, left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Sorry King fans. The librarian part really reminded me of my favorite part in It’s a Wonderful Life, when Clarence tells Jimmy Stewart that his wife is “no, it’s too bad, I can’t tell you. She’s a….a…LIBRARIAN!” God the horror (just to clarify, my friend is a librarian and I’m sups jealous).

Now M has much more King experience than I do, and she has said that Joyland is far from his best, so maybe I need to give him a second chance. But I don’t think I will because I do not like to get scared. I will, however, read Stand By Me, a movie I love and one that I just learned was written by the King himself.

-A

One thought on ““Joyland”, or Stephen King doesn’t like women

Leave a Reply

